Live Cricket Online
Former Deputy Minister P. Digambaram and V. Radhakrishnan today left the government and expressed that they will unconditionally support Opposition Common Candidate Maithripala Sirisena at the forthcoming Presidential election.

The observation was made at a press conference held at the Opposition Leader’s office in Colombo, this afternoon. 

Three Provincial Councilors attached to the Central Provincial Council together with 14 Pradeshiya Sabha members have also left the government with Digambaram, while one Provincial Councilor and 22 PS members also joined the Common Candidate with Radhakrishnan.  

Former Deputy Minister of Botanical Gardens and Public Recreation V. Radhakrishnan and Deputy Minister of National Languages and Social Integration P. Digambaram tendered their resignations to President Mahinda Rajapaksa, today.

Parliamentarian V. Radhakrishnan who represented the Nuwara Eliya district was elected to the Parliament in 2010 election under the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) ticket. Radhakrishnan sworn in as a Deputy Minister before President Rajapaksa on 9 October. Parliamentarian Digambaram too elected to the Parliament in 2010 from the Nuwara Eliya district. He was appointed as the Deputy Minister of National Languages and Social Integration on 21 August.

Digambaram was also the leader of National Workers Union (NWU), while Radhakrishnan is the leader of Upcountry People’s Front (UPF).