Live Cricket Online
Opposition Common Candidate Maithripala Sirisena submitted nomination at the Department of Election for the forthcoming Presidential election on 8 January, 2015.President Mahinda Rajapaksa has also arrived at the Election Department in Rajagiriya, a short while ago, Ada Derana reporter said.

Objections to nomination papers could be made from 9.00 a.m. to 11.30 a.m. after handing over of nominations. Objections may be made to the nomination papers of a candidate by any rival candidate or the person who has signed the nomination paper of such rival candidate, the Elections Dept. said.

Nineteen candidates including 17 accepted parties and 2 independent candidates have made deposits for the presidential election.

A special security plan has been implemented around Rajagiriya from 9.00 a.m. to 2.00 p.m. while nominations for the Presidential elections are accepted. Police Spokesman SSP Ajith Rohana said that some 2,000 police officers have been deployed around the Election Department as a security measure.


Election Commissioner Mahinda Deshapriya dismissed two objections raised against Common Candidate Maithripala Sirisena and President Mahinda Rajapaksa. The Commissioner too advised all the candidate to maintain a fair election campaign. He added that the Department of Elections will accept the nominations of all 19 candidates.